Labyrinth Tray

Posted: January 20, 2015 in Geometricly Inspired, Mosaic Work Update
Tags: , , , ,

Recently I wrote about deciding not to tray the blue and black optical illusion mosaic – and instead frame it.  Well, this left a black tray floating around the workshop still calling out to be mosaic’d!

I didn’t have a clue for the design, just that it should be simple yet interesting.  I’d been looking through some pictures of a trip to Verona where I visited the Giusti Gardens.  One of the pictures was of my friend walking the hedge labyrinth.    Bingo!    A labyrinth design it will be!

F441 (3)

The Chartres Cathedral labyrinth was a special place for my Dad and that makes it my most favorite.  But that labyrinth design is round and my tray was square.  A bit of research led me to some math calculations that morphed Chartres labyrinth into how it would appear in a square format.

The tray isn’t very big (10” x 10” inside) so used a small bit of the pattern along with fantastic blue & black tiles in 3/8″ size.  The colors may look familiar, they are the same as the optical illusion mosaic that was originally going to go in the tray!

Whether it gets used as a tray or a conversation piece on a stand – it is a simple yet beautiful design.  Maybe if there was a stressful dinner party happening, the host/hostess could take a pause in the kitchen to relax and trace the labyrinth with their finger!

I’ve been working the past couple of months on a new series.  I’m quite excited about it, as it goes in a bit of a new direction.  The frames for the pieces finally came in, and now that they’re finished I need to take their pictures.  I’m heading off to a class this week, and after the return will take the photos of the new pieces and start sharing them with you – so check back with us soon to see the new direction!

Comments
  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I like this very much!

    Like

  2. Jarrod says:

    Great work Mercedes! Like the color scheme and labyrinth theme.

    Like

  3. jean-marc says:

    the color scheme is striking

    Like

  4. Diana says:

    I love labyrinths and how you figured out how to make it fit the tray. Beautiful colors, as well.

    Like

  5. Laurie Heyden says:

    What a coincidence! I love mosaics, only did one – a table top. I did leaded/stained glass in the past and slowly working at learning to carve glass – abrasive etching. Thank you for stopping by my blog. A labyrinth in glass and in plants! Have a great day!

    Like

  6. Jeannine Cardinal says:

    Super beau ce labyrinthe! Très impressionnant. J’aime beaucoup. Un vrai plaisir pour les yeux.

    Et bonne classe, chère Mercedes.

    Jeannine Cardinal

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

