Labyrinth Tray

Recently I wrote about deciding not to tray the blue and black optical illusion mosaic – and instead frame it.  Well, this left a black tray floating around the workshop still calling out to be mosaic’d!

I didn’t have a clue for the design, just that it should be simple yet interesting.  I’d been looking through some pictures of a trip to Verona where I visited the Giusti Gardens.  One of the pictures was of my friend walking the hedge labyrinth.    Bingo!    A labyrinth design it will be!

F441 (3)

The Chartres Cathedral labyrinth was a special place for my Dad and that makes it my most favorite.  But that labyrinth design is round and my tray was square.  A bit of research led me to some math calculations that morphed Chartres labyrinth into how it would appear in a square format.

The tray isn’t very big (10” x 10” inside) so used a small bit of the pattern along with fantastic blue & black tiles in 3/8″ size.  The colors may look familiar, they are the same as the optical illusion mosaic that was originally going to go in the tray!

Whether it gets used as a tray or a conversation piece on a stand – it is a simple yet beautiful design.  Maybe if there was a stressful dinner party happening, the host/hostess could take a pause in the kitchen to relax and trace the labyrinth with their finger!

I’ve been working the past couple of months on a new series.  I’m quite excited about it, as it goes in a bit of a new direction.  The frames for the pieces finally came in, and now that they’re finished I need to take their pictures.  I’m heading off to a class this week, and after the return will take the photos of the new pieces and start sharing them with you – so check back with us soon to see the new direction!

14 thoughts on “Labyrinth Tray

  1. What a coincidence! I love mosaics, only did one – a table top. I did leaded/stained glass in the past and slowly working at learning to carve glass – abrasive etching. Thank you for stopping by my blog. A labyrinth in glass and in plants! Have a great day!

    Like

      1. Hi again. FYI – you are following me at Colorpoems, I just started a new blog at acontemplativegardener.wordpress.com, follow me there too (not sure if I’ll be posting at Colorpoems). And thank you…

        Like

  2. Super beau ce labyrinthe! Très impressionnant. J’aime beaucoup. Un vrai plaisir pour les yeux.

    Et bonne classe, chère Mercedes.

    Jeannine Cardinal

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.