Study in white with energy bursts of red

Posted: July 9, 2015 in Study in White
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In May, took a fantastic mosaic sculpture workshop at Mosaikashop in Montreal.  I learned so much from instructor Marcelo de Melo, and really appreciated the way he taught.  When I saw he was teaching a 2nd workshop the next week, decided it would be foolish not to jump on the opportunity to learn more from him.

IMG_4730 (600x800)

bits and bobs

This 2nd workshop was all about composition.  Not knowing what I’d want to work with, and it being 2.5 hrs away, I dragged over gobs of fun bits from home as options.

IMG_4728 (600x800)

love this wire!

When we started designing – I kept coming back to this wad of red wire.  Fell in love with this wire in 2014 at a Tennessee junkyard, and dragged home a TON, much to my husbands horror 8-O.  Now it came in handy though! Thought to work the red flowing through a field of white, in a twisty, meandering way with the wire down between the white tessera.  But, that isn’t what happened.

There wasn’t enough white smalti available for my piece, so had to move to a different choice – marble.  I rarely use marble, it isn’t my material of choice – but it had a great fun texture to it, almost like sugar cubes!

IMG_4731 (800x600)

some of the white marble

While digging around in a bin, discovered thin smooth polished rods.  They were neat, and figured I’d cut them up in tiny slim bits.  But when I got back to my board – started playing and laid them in a vertical pattern.  Voila – a new design was born!  The vertical white bars would sit slightly higher than a square-ish multi-white (marble, vitreous and clear glass) background.  This design became more about texture than anything.  I even let the white cement show and set the pieces further apart to allow it to squish up.

The original idea of the embedded red wire meandering no longer worked in the regimented background – but I still wanted to use it.  Decided on some twisted shapes that come out of the white and burst across that square regimented background at an angle.  Like an energy burst or lighting from a storm.

This project was something different for me.  Different materials than I normally use, different setting of the materials by leaving – for me – large spaces between, different in color as I almost never work in white, but in the end I quite like how it turned out!  Plus, in all our discussions in the class and individually with our instructor, learned quite a lot and came home so pleased I’d not missed the opportunity to learn more.  For more info on our super great instructor Marcelo de Melo, check out his website at www.mdemelo.com

So – below are pics of my project!   I’ve been having more thoughts of this energy burst of red lately and may explore it more in a little series, not sure yet though.

 

Comments
  1. I nominated you for an award! It is in my last post! Xxxxxx

    Like

  2. jean-marc says:

    this mixed-media art is really interesting. I like the all-white piece as well. Well done !

    Like

  3. Diana says:

    I like your exploration into mixed media pieces. A red wire series would be intriguing.

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

