Mosaic sculpture – Vote & tell me how it should sit!

Posted: June 19, 2015 in Sculpture
Tags: , , , , , , ,
purp black sculputure close up a mercedes mosaics

my favorite view

Previously, I asked for help deciding on a color for the other side of a sculpture I was building for a workshop.  Thank you to all the lovely folks who gave suggestions – there were some awesome ones!!

I’d loved the ideas of pinks or teals – but ended up not having enough of either one, with no time to order more, had to pick something else.

Played around with options and finally settled on a mix of 3 blacks. The different shades give it a nice shine and make it not so flat. Also, stuck in a few strips the white marble just like on the purple side.  My favorite part is looking from the purple side through the “tear” and seeing a strip of the white surrounded by black.

I’m happy with the result – at workshops it’s always a worry to not be just a derivative of the instructor’s style and I think this turned out for sure “me”. Now – need to decide how it should sit.  It was originally supposed to just sit one way – but realized it actually can balance other ways as well.   Which way do you like it?

Vote and tell me which way it looks best to you! (double click a pic to expand and see the options bigger)

here’s some other detail shots too

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Jay says:

    This is very cool and the colour is wonderful.

    Like

  2. Love it anyway you show it! it is beautiful. Thank you for visiting my blog and I look forward to see more of this! Cheers, Johanna

    Like

    • Thanks for the lovely comment, glad to know it looks good any of the ways! It is hard for me to choose so good to know it works, maybe I’ll put it on a rotating schedule and move it around every now and again! 😉 Thanks for the visit back as well! Looking forward to seeing more of your blog too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jean-marc says:

    very cool 3D shape !

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

