What direction to take now?

Posted: April 8, 2015 in Mosaic General, Mosaic Work Update
Tags: ,

Recently I’ve shown you 3 pieces I created in the last half of 2014, affectionately called the “blocks” series.  It’s kind of the only thing I want to work on going forward.  But – that won’t quite be the case….

Late last year I redesigned my website and re-launched it as a business with art and jewelry for sale.  Since making that decision to try and sell pieces, and move to the next level (gosh I hate that term! but it is best one) realized I needed to approach how I work differently.  Less willy nilly, working on one piece then starting to think about the next – but making some plans, setting goals and targets, building some inventory.

January brought about this planning and I decided to focus on 3 “series” in the wall art area plus jewelry.  I’ve developed new designs by expanding on 3 separate areas of my existing work.  So what are the 3 series going to be?

Birch Trees at Night

The first series will just be to build a couple more of the Birch Trees at Night.  Created the first of these in 2013 and 2 years later, still am in love with the simple not quite realistic design.Birch at Night Mercedes Mosaics 70p

Black Turquoise Blue Op Illu Mosaic Mercedes MosaicsOp Art

Worked on some optical illusions in mosaic last year and really loved it.  I like a play on the eye and bit of fun with simple 2 color designs.  Most of what will be in this series won’t be “illusion” per se, but more geometric, op art style designs.

Cream Copper Blocks Mercedes Mosaics 55pBlocks

More blocks!  Yay!  I’ll be working on this series last – but have to tell you it is the one I’m most chomping at the bit to get to going on.  I have some great designs in the hopper and am really excited to see how they turn out.

The idea behind this is after creating these 3 series, to maybe then approach some places for representation (a little scary…) or perhaps just start to work harder at selling my art on my own.  A new collection of Mosaic jewelry will be created too, because I just love doing it!  🙂

So that’s my upcoming next many months!  Hope very much you’ll keep up with me and check out what comes from all these best laid plans!  And hey, if you have thoughts  – color combos you think would be cool, etc. let me know in the comments below!  🙂

Comments
  1. Beautiful work! That birch tree mosaic – WoW. Wishing you The Very Best as you move to the next level.

    Like

    • thank you so much JoAnn! Appreciate the encouragement and best wishes! Glad to know the birch trees caught your eye! Love that one too but never am sure if others will like it – so am really glad to hear when someone else likes something. 🙂

      Like

  2. Diana says:

    Fantastic choices! I still love the birch trees and the optical illusions are always fun. Looking forward to some new jewelry, as well. Best wishes on getting your art out there where more people can enjoy it- you really do have a wonderful gift of talent.

    Like

    • what a lovely comment Diana! thanks so much for that! nice to know they sound like good choices, it is always a bit of an unnerving process and tons of questioning in my head, so really nice to have some positive feedback! 🙂

      Like

  3. jm says:

    I love the game plan and the goal !

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

