Meandering copper

Posted: March 11, 2015 in Blocks, Geometricly Inspired, Mosaic Work Update
Tags: , , , , , ,

When I created my first test of the blocks series that I showed you last time ( Taxes as art inspiration? ), it was originally going to be done in a couple of shades of copper gold-leaf smalti.  Since that didn’t work, and the project used other colors, I was left with some beautiful material to use in something new!

details vert

copper meandering in a 3 color background

Wanting to continue the “blocks” series – I drew out a simple meandering design over 6 blocks.  I didn’t want to label it as anything in particular (path, stream, tree), but wanted to viewer to decide for themselves.  My husband for example, sees a tree  – but I see something else.

I also didn’t want it to be “loud” but more of a quiet, suttle piece.  Now, before you say – um, Mercedes, copper gold-leaf is kinda loud and shimmery!  I realize this is often true, but it does work softly here.  Besides I’m a girl who loves the shimmery, so will find a way to justify it! 😉  For the background, went with this gorgeous soft drawn beige-y glass, then every so often studded it with transparent smalti in a different shade and a little tiny bit of creamy metallic glass.

For the paint on the supporting base, I picked an odd sort of brownish sort of not brownish color.  It has a great effect in it giving a texture and not just boring flat.  I also had good luck in finding this amazing frame – it is a very deep, rich, super dark brown and it sets off the mosaic perfectly!

It could be hung either way a viewer desired, but I kind of like it vertical so that’s how you’re going to see it in the pictures. 🙂  The size of the actual mosaic is 6″ x 12″, overall framed size is about 11.5″ x 19″ and if you like it enough to want it in your home, it is currently available for sale in our shop!

Comments
  1. Bunk Strutts says:

    Interesting. I saw an abstract hand first, then turned it upside down and saw a brown river delta in a parched landscape. If the copper is exposed, it should evolve into mossy tree branches.

    Like

  2. Mama says:

    love it. I see a dancer’s head with arms up and legs leaping. weird mama

    Like

  3. Diana says:

    I think it looks like something under a microscope that I have seen before! Love the copper.

    Like

  4. jm says:

    I love that piece; I like how the colors blend into modern looking art piece.

    Like

  5. Crooked Tracks says:

    Very nice, I like the copper.

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

