Taxes as art inspiration?

Posted: February 26, 2015 in Blocks, Geometricly Inspired, Mosaic Work Update
Tags: , , , , , , ,

You never know where you might stumble upon inspiration!

In April 2014, I made the journey to my accountant’s office for the annual signing of the income taxes.  Never an exciting or fun visit – yet this time was different.

While waiting in the lobby  – there were new paintings on display.  On one of them, the painter had used different panels, painted a little scene on each one and then set them at different heights.  It was a huge piece, really interesting, and got me thinking how it could work with mosaic.

the simple geometric pattern

the simple geometric pattern

I noodled on the idea for awhile, then in summer 2014, started on a new set of tests.  For the first, I chose a simple geometric pattern just to see if it would even work out.  Instead of a different scene on each panel, I chose a single pattern going across all of them.  Originally I’d picked two shades of copper but after laying it out, the 2 coppers weren’t different enough.  It was pretty, but you didn’t see much of the pattern, so I changed gears and went with turquoise and black gold.

This mosaic below is the result of my first test in the panel – or as I’ve come to call it – the “blocks” concept.  There are most certainly things I would do differently, but for the first one, was happy.  It proved to me the concept could be interesting (it’s really neat to view from different directions) and inspired me to spend the rest of 2014 working on a couple others.   I’m excited about this new direction, it is really fun and there are several designs I’ve got in the hopper just waiting to come to life!

Over the next few posts – I’ll show you the others that I finished in late 2014.  For now, here’s the photos of the first one of my new “blocks” direction initially inspired by my taxes! 😉   The size of the actual mosaic is 6″ x 12″, overall size is about 11.5″ x 19″.

Mercedes Mosaics - blue and black gold blocks geo pattern

Comments
  1. Wonderful colours, and I like the different levels. Yes, can imagine it’s difficult to capture on photo the effect when you see it from different angles. Beautiful work!

    Like

  2. Espirational says:

    Cool! I really like that.

    Like

  3. […] Taxes as art inspiration? […]

    Like

  4. jean-marc says:

    You need to see the accountant more often !!!

    Like

  5. Diana says:

    Interesting concept. I like the different levels on the pattern. I bet it is even more noticeable in person. Love the color combination .

    Like

  6. Pat Macy says:

    Amazing, it boggles my mind..

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

