Escaping the cold!

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Life Ramblings
Tags: , ,
giant pile of snow, and this is AFTER some melting

giant pile of snow, and this is AFTER some melting

At the time of this posting, I’m shooting through the air heading towards California sunshine!

Winter here has been long and snowy.  The last couple of months there’s been a pile on each side of our driveway taller than me and I can’t remember when we last saw the yard.  Then out of the blue, a visit with family in California for Easter came on the radar – family & sun, count me in!

However, this means no updates for a couple of weeks – but I will leave you with a little teaser. 🙂

There are several projects in the hopper, but one has taken me in a bit of an unexpected direction.  I stumbled across some jewelry blanks recently for necklaces and a ring.  The bezel setting looked deep enough to fit tiles into, so I bought a couple to play with.  Never thinking more than 2 might get done, I started designing the mini-mosaics in the pendants and couldn’t stop!   I made a tiny collection, they’re setting up in their glue as you read this and when I come back will finish them up with some grout.  So be sure and check back in a couple of weeks to see the final results!

long pendant blanksshiny silver pendant blanks

Comments
  1. Debs Pitman says:

    Really looking forwards to seeing these in their next phase!

    Like

  2. Hi Mercedes, enjoy that sunshine! We had a long hard winter here in the UK ( for our standards anyway) March has been bitter with heavy snow and the poor spring flowers are struggling to come out. Desperate for some sun. Holding on until May when we are off to Naples, Sorrento and Pompeii for a week! Yippee! Meanwhile many mosaic projects on the go. Your little jewellery pieces are a lovely opportunity to experiment and be free. How about not grouting some and just using the most exquisite materials?! Also you might find that one of your designs would look amazing big…… Enjoy it all!

    Like

    • Snow in March just isn’t right is it! Here’s hoping for some good sun coming your way soon too!! Am envious you get to go back to Italy soon! I adored that part when i visited it am sure you will absolutly love it! Never thought about that maybe one of these little guys would look good big, that is a great idea!! Now I am going to look at them with a new eye. :-). There is one I am wearing around right now that i have not grouted, i had planned to but like it so much the way it is, it. It might just stay that way.

      Like

  3. sandra peck says:

    Hey Mercedes,Remember to bring back some of that warm weather with you, ok! Trying to look on the brighter side of things, yesterday and today was actually not too bad somewhere around +7 . Tea at Teavanna is waiting. I do like the one shaped like the ring. Great idea. Can’t wait to see what they look like. Travel safe and Happy Easter!Sandra

    Date: Thu, 28 Mar 2013 17:05:54 +0000 To: bugsandcriters@hotmail.com

    Like

  4. Diana says:

    Have a wonderful adventure. I am sad that I was excluded : ( because I was hoping to visit with you, too. I will be looking forward to seeing the new mosaic project when you return. Enjoy the sun and lack of earmuffs!

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

