Quick little flower tray project

Posted: March 7, 2013 in Flower Tray
Tags: , ,

The San Marco inspired tray was done using the reverse method – all went well but there were a few things I’d felt I could have done better in the execution of the flip.  Because of this, I decided to do another reverse method project right away to practice.   Since this wasn’t my original plan, I didn’t have anything prepared in terms of design ideas or materials.  I got a cheap little tray, found a simple design I liked good enough – grabbed some of my already purchased tiles that I need to use up and went to town!

The end result is below.  Just a super simple flower design on a small tray.  It was done in the reverse method on paper then flipped right side up into a bed of cement in the tray, grouted, then the wood sides of the tray got painted a silvery tone that seems to go quite nicely with the bit of iridescence in the background tiles.

Think I’ve finally gotten this reverse method stuff out of my system, for awhile at least.  Looking forward to starting on some other ideas that have been floating around in my head and finally looking at the front of my mosaic when I’m working on it instead of the back!!

Comments
  1. Hi Mercedes, flippedy, flip girl! Well done on the tray project, nothing like getting over the fear of something by giving it another go….lovely sunny colours, spring is in the air. Off to do some tile to space myself now. Much love Liz x

    Like

  2. sandra peck says:

    It looks great. Nice work.

    Date: Thu, 7 Mar 2013 20:25:01 +0000 To: bugsandcriters@hotmail.com

    Like

  3. Diana says:

    Lovely job. Those iridescent tiles really do shine. I like the flower patter and the paint color that you chose.

    Like

Leave a comment, suggestion or random thought!

